Earlier conferences

List of all IASS conferences

With its 31th conference in Groningen, Netherlands 2016, IASS also celebrated its 60th anniversary . Scholars from all over the world have over the past years been brought together, united by their interest in and fascination for Scandinavian literature and culture. 

In 2006 Professor Janet Garton and Professor Elias Bredsdorff put together The History of The International Association of Scandinavian Studies, published by Norvik Press. Unfortunately, the publication was never for sale, but it is now possible to get a copy. Just send IWCSS Administrators an e-mail.

Here follows a survey of all the conferences arranged by IASS, from the very first at the University of Cambridge until present day. 


  • 1958 University of Oslo, Lillehammer
    Theme: Experiment and renewal in Nordic literature in the twentieth century
  • 1960 Oosterbeek, Holland 
    Theme: Impressionism in Nordic literature 1880-1900
  • 1962 University of Aarhus
    Theme: Revaluations
  • 1964 University College London
    President: A. H. Smith
    Theme: Literary Influence
  • 1966 University of Uppsala
    Theme: Interaction between literature and other arts
  • 1968 University of Paris
    President: Maurice Gravier
    Theme: Franco-Scandinavian literary relations
  • 1970 University of Bergen, Fana folkehøgskole
    President: Harald Noreng
    Theme: The modern Nordic novel and literary researach
  • 1972 Christian-Albrechts-Univerität, Kiel
    President: Otto Oberholzer
    Theme: Modern Nordic Poetry
  • 1974 University of Reykjavík
    President: Sveinn Skorri Höskuldsson
    Theme: Ideas and ideologies in Scandinavian literature since the First World War
  • 1976 University of Ghent
    President: Alex Bolckmans
    Theme: Creatio versus Mimesis: problems of realism in modern Nordic literature
  • 1978 University of Helsinki, Hanaholmen
    President: Johan Wrede
    Theme: Twentieth-century drama in Scandinavia
  • 1980 Ernst-Moriz-Arndt-Universität, Greifswald
    President: Horst Bien
    Theme: The writing of Nordic literary history
  • 1982 University of Odense
    President: Mogens Brøndsted
    Theme: The short story genre in Nordic literature from Andersen's tales to the modern novelle
  • 1984 University of Washington, Seattle
    President: Birgitta Steene
    Theme: Scandinavian literature in a transnational context: reception translation, migration
  • 1986 University of Gothenburg
    President: Lars Lönnroth
    Theme: The Modern Breakthrough in Nordic literature
  • 1988 University of Zürich
    President: Oskar Bandle
    Theme: Nordic Romanticism
  • 1990 University of Trondheim
    President: Jorunn Hareide
    Theme: Modernism in Nordic literature
  • 1992 Eötvös Lorand University, Budapest
    President: András Masát
    Theme: Literature as resistance and counterculture
  • 1994 University of Reykjavík
    President: Helga Kress
    Theme: Literature and gender
  • 1996 University of Bonn
    President: Heiko Uecker
    Theme: Eighteenth-century Nordic literature
  • 1998 University of the Faroes
    President: Malan Marnesdóttir
    Theme: Nordic literature and mentality
  • 2000 University of East Anglia, Norwich
    President: Janet Garton
    Theme: Beginnings and endings in Nordic literature
  • 2002 University of Aalborg
    President: Anker Gemzøe
    Theme: Nordic prose ficiton after 1960
  • 2004 University of Vienna
    President: Sven Rossel
    Theme: The image of Scandinavia abroad - the image if other nations in Scandinavia
  • 2006 University of Åbo
    President: Clas Zilliacus
    Theme: Borders in Nordic literature
  • 2008 University of Gdansk
    President: Maria Sibinska
    Theme: Nordic Drama. Renewal and Transgression
  • 2010 Lund University (link)
    President: Per Erik Ljung
    Theme: Översättning - adaption, interpretation, transformation
  • 2012 University of Latvia, Riga/University of Daugavpils, Daugavpils
    President: Ivars Orehovs
    Theme: Literature and Law
  • 2014 University of Agder
    President: Unni Langås
    Theme: Literature inter artes
  • 2016 University of Groningen
    President: Petra Broomans
    Theme: Transit - 'Norden' och 'Europa'
  • 2018 University of Copenhagen (link)
    President: Torben Jelsbak
    Theme: Scandinavian Exceptionalisms
  • 2021 Vilnius University (link) [postponed from 2020, due to the corona pandemic]
    President: Ieva Steponavičiūtė Aleksiejūnienė
    Theme: Memory Culture in Scandinavian Studies
  • 2023 UiT The Arctic University of Norway in Tromsø
    President: Henrik Johnsson
Page Manager: iwcss.administratorssol.luse | 2022-02-14